Mosaic

“Mosaic”

 

Ever wish you could express your turbulent feelings about the special needs journey in a way that would make others resonate not only to your struggle, but to your path’s complicated beauty? I found an outstanding book of poetry titled “Mosaic,” by Elizabeth Newman, which does just that.

The full title “A Long Way from Shattered Glass to Mosaic, Living With Autism Spectrum Disorder”*  gives us the clue that here is a woman who has stared autism in the face and found its joy. Everywhere I dipped into “Mosaic,” I found my feelings, exquisitely expressed. I thought I’d share one example.

Someday, in heaven, my son will be totally healed. Although our lives here are rich and I have no desire to “hurry” God’s timing for eternity, I think with pleasure and longing of the time we will be able to truly see one another. I want to have a full conversation with him, to hear his thoughts, to perceive

the essential Luke. Here on earth, I get beautiful glimpses of who he is, and realize there’s so much more to him than I can comprehend. Somehow, I have to strike the balance between celebrating the Luke I know with my thirst to understand him better.

Newman’s beautiful poem, “Enough”, used with permission, says it better than I can.

 

Enough

Stuck in my head

you are like a distant tune

not quite remembered

nor forgotten

 

You hover

in that in-between place

of the faintly understood

and I struggle

to bring you

to full consciousness

 

I catch myself

singing your verse

and wondering

with what softest kiss

you pressed your melody

to my lips

 

Oh

you are like a song

I have attempted to learn

so well

for so long

that I vacillate

between replay

and

enough already

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Available at http://www.livingthemosaic.com, and on Amazon, http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=A+long+way+from+shattered+glass+to+mosaic

Tags:

Categories: Blog, Witty, Wise, and Otherwise

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.